Public Events

Upcoming Lectures & Colloquia

Friday, December 9, 2022 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 101
Christopher Otter, Ohio State University
"Socializing the Technosphere (Agrarian Studies Colloquium)"

Past Lectures & Colloquia

2022

Friday, December 2, 2022 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 101
Steve Hindle, Washington University in St. Louis
"Mediating Subsistence in Seventeenth-Century England: The Case of the Country Miller (Agrarian Studies Colloquium)"

Friday, November 4, 2022 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 101
Diana Montaño, Washington University in St. Louis
"Necaxa, Revolution & the Nature of a Changing Climate (Agrarian Studies Colloquium)"

Friday, October 28, 2022 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 101
Mark Usher, University of Vermont
"Following Nature’s Lead: Ancient Ways of Living in a Dying World (Agrarian Studies Colloquium)"

Friday, October 14, 2022 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 101
Giovanni Batz, University of California, Santa Barbara

Thursday, October 13, 2022 - 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM - Phelps 401
Valerie Hansen

Friday, September 23, 2022 - 11am - Online via Zoom
Justin Farrell (Yale University)

Tuesday, September 20, 2022 - 1:00pm - Online via Zoom
On Barak (Tel Aviv University)
"Beached: The Construction and Thermal Dynamics of the Levantine Coast (Yale School of Architecture)"

Thursday, September 15, 2022 - 4:00pm - Beinecke Library
Jim Akerman (Newberry Library)
"The World in Maps: Exhibition Opening Lecture ‘From Dati to d’Anville: Early Modern Europe and the Birth of the Atlas’  (Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library)"

Friday, September 9, 2022 - 12pm - Phelps 401 and Online via Zoom
Joseph Manning, Yale University
"The Nile as a Branch of the Indian Ocean System"

Wednesday, April 6, 2022 - 4:00 pm - Online via Zoom
Jennifer Eaglin, Ohio State University

2021

Friday, December 10, 2021 - 11:00 AM - Online via Zoom
Bathsheba Demuth (Brown University)

Thursday, December 2, 2021 - 4:00 pm - HQ 136
Robyn d'Avignon, NYU

Wednesday, December 1, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM - Humanities Quadrangle, Room 276
Taylor Rose (Yale University)

Wednesday, November 10, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM - Online via Zoom
Daniel Headrick (Roosevelt University)

Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 11:45am - 250 Church Street, New Haven, CT 06511
Gregory Brew, Yale University

Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM - Online via Zoom
Victor McFarland (University of Missouri)

Friday, October 29, 2021 - 1:30 - 3:00 PM EDT - Online via Zoom

Friday, October 29, 2021 - 11:00 AM - Online via Zoom
Anne Eller (Yale University)

Friday, October 15, 2021 - 11:00 AM - Online via Zoom
Robin Derby (University of California, Los Angeles)

Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM - Online via Zoom
KC O'Hara (University of Pennsylvania)

Friday, October 8, 2021 - 11:00 AM - Online via Zoom
Francesca Bray (University of Edinburgh)

Wednesday, September 29, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM - Humanities Quadrangle, Room 132
Nisha Poyyaprath Rayaroth (Yale University, South Asian Studies Council)

Friday, September 24, 2021 - 11:00 AM - Online via Zoom
Dorian Fuller (University College, London)

Thursday, April 29, 2021 - 5:30 PM EDT - Online via Zoom

Friday, April 23, 2021 - 11:00 AM EDT - Online via Zoom
Hengameh Ziai (Yale Agrarian Studies Fellow)

Thursday, April 22, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 1:30 PM EDT - Online via Zoom
Mark Frank (Yale University)

Wednesday, April 21, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM EDT - Online via Zoom
Thomas Monaghan (Yale University)

Friday, April 16, 2021 - 11:00 AM EDT - Online via Zoom
Vikram Tamboli (Yale Agrarian Studies Fellow)
"Malabar, Gentoo, and Pariah: A Speculative History of South Asian Blackness in British Guiana (Yale Agrarian Studies)"

Wednesday, April 7, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM EDT - Online via Zoom
Gabriel Lee (Yale University Postdoctoral Fellow)

Friday, April 2, 2021 - 11:00 AM EDT - Online via Zoom
Marina Welker (Cornell University)

Wednesday, March 31, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM EDT - Online via Zoom
Charlotte Leib (Yale University)

Friday, March 26, 2021 - 11:00 AM EDT - Online via Zoom
Arianne Sedef Urus (Harvard University)
"Properties of Empire: Environment and Law in the Eighteenth-Century Newfoundland Cod Fisheries (Yale Agrarian Studies)"

Thursday, March 11, 2021 - 12:00 PM EDT - Online via Zoom
Natalie Koch (Syracuse University)
"Saudi Arizona: The Past and Present of Arid Empire and Desert-to-Desert Connections (Council on Middle East Studies)"

Wednesday, March 3, 2021 - 12:15 PM EST - Online via Zoom
Thomas W. Mitchell (Texas A&M School of Law) and Carlton Sanders (farmer)
"Racism, land loss, and the creation of modern agriculture (Law, Ethics & Animals Program)"

Wednesday, March 3, 2021 - 4:00 - 5:00 PM EST - Online via Zoom
Speaker: Steven T. Moga (Smith College) / Moderator: Charlotte Leib (Yale University)

Friday, February 26, 2021 - 12:00 PM EST - Online via Zoom
Susanne Wengle (University of Notre Dame)
"Technopolitics and the Human-Nature Nexus in Contemporary Russian Agriculture (Yale Agrarian Studies)"

Thursday, February 25, 2021 - 8:00 PM EST - Online via Zoom
Andrew Alan Johnson
"Streams of Consciousness: An evening of open-ended conversation about Mekong Dreaming (Council on Southeast Asia Studies)"