Public Events

Past Lectures & Colloquium

2018

Friday, November 30, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Julie Livingston, New York University

Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 5:00 PM - Rosenkranz, Room 241, 125 Prospect Street, New Haven, CT
Joshua Specht, Monash University

Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM - McClellan 101
Keri Lambert, Yale University

Friday, November 9, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Benjamin Madley, University of California, Los Angeles

Friday, November 2, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Lori Flores, SUNY Stony Brook University

Friday, October 26, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Benjamin Siegel, Boston University

Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 3:30 PM - Watson Center, Room A46
Sarah Pickman, HSHM and Paul Burow, F&ES / Anthropology

Friday, October 12, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Aidan Forth, Loyola University Chicago

Friday, October 5, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201
Robert Thorson, University of Connecticut

Monday, October 1, 2018 - 3:45 PM - Sterling Memorial Library, Lecture Hall
Lisa Ruth Rand, Consortium for the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Friday, September 28, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Sigrid Schmalzer, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 4:30 PM - Henry R. Luce Hall (LUCE ), 202
Arupjyoti Saikia, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

Monday, September 24, 2018 - 09/24/2018 - Kline Geology Laboratory, 210 Whitney Ave, New Haven, CT 06511
Joe McConnell, Desert Research Institute, Nevada System of Higher Education, Reno

Friday, September 21, 2018 - 2:30 PM - 10 Sachem Street

Friday, September 21, 2018 - 11:00 AM - 230 Prospect Street, Room 201, New Haven, CT 06511
Jo Guldi, Southern Methodist University

Friday, September 14, 2018 - 3:30pm - Burke Auditoriaum, Kroon Hall
Andrew Kahrl, University of Virginia

Friday, September 7, 2018 - 3pm - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208
Roundtable and Fall Reception

Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208

Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 4:00PM
Dan Brayton (Middlebury College)
"“The Stews of Southwark: An Environmental History,” (Literature, the Arts, and the Environment Colloquium)"

Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 9:30AM - Kroon Hall

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:30 PM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Pratik Chakrabarti (University of Manchester)

Friday, April 6, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Aaron Jakes (Yale University and The New School for Social Research)

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 6:30pm - Hastings Hall
Caitlin DeSilvey, University of Exeter

Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 12pm - HGS 211
José Augusto Pádua (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)

Friday, March 2, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
William Rankin (Yale University)

Friday, February 23, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Paul Sutter (University of Colorado-Boulder)

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 12pm - Burke Auditoriaum, Kroon Hall
Harvey Weiss, Joseph Manning and Robert Mendelsohn, Yale University
"Collapse! What Collapse? Societal Responses to Abrupt Climate Changes before Global Warming" (FES Research Seminar"

Friday, February 16, 2018 - 3:00 PM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Stuart Schwartz, Jose Caraballo-Cueto, William Suarez, Fernando Abruña

Friday, February 16, 2018 - 12:30 PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208
Jason W. Moore (Binghamton University)

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 4pm - Luce Hall, Room 202
Kate Brown, University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Friday, February 9, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Gaston Gordillo (University of British Columbia)

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30PM - Henry R. Luce Hall, Room 203
Debjani Bhattacharya (Drexel University),

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 12:00 PM - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall
Deborah Coen

Friday, January 26, 2018 - 4:00PM - Henry R. Luce Hall, Room 203
Paul Kreitman (Columbia)

2017

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 12:00 - Hall of Graduate Studies, Room 204 (HGS 204)
John Lee, Yale Agrarian Studies

Friday, November 3, 2017 - 3:00pm - Whitney Humanities Center, Room
Prasenjit Duara (Duke), Kathleen Morrison (UPenn), Karen Thornber (Harvard)

Monday, October 30, 2017 - 12:00pm - HGS 204
Emma Shortis, Fox International Fellow, Yale University

Monday, October 23, 2017 - 4:00pm - 28 Hillhouse Ave, Room 106
Paul Erdkamp, Free University, Brussels

Saturday, October 21, 2017 - Whitney Humanities Center

Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4pm - HGS 105
Nancy Langston, Michigan Technological University

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 204
Paul Berne Burow, Yale Joint FES & Anthropology Program

Monday, September 18, 2017 - 4:00pm - Luce Hall 203 and Common Room
James Scott (Political Science), Jennifer Raab (History of Art), and Paul Sabin (History)

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 204
Daniel Headrick (Roosevelt University)

Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 9:00AM-5:00pm - Whitney Humanities Center
Yale Doctoral Students (multiple departments)
"More than Nature: Environmental Humanities at Yale"

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 12:30-2:00PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208
Meg Jacobs, Princeton University (Hosted by CHESS)

Saturday, April 22, 2017 - 8:30AM-5:00PM - Luce Hall

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
John McNeill, Georgetown University
"Three Approaches to the Anthropocene: The Industrial Revolution, the Cold War, and the Geopolitical History of Fossil Fuels"

Monday, April 10, 2017 - 4:30pm - Fulton Room, SHM, L215, 333 Cedar Street
Harriet Ritvo, MIT
"A Whiff of Danger: Hybridity, Breed, and Wildness"

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Joyce Chaplin, Harvard University
""Poor Richard's Climate: Body, Comfort, and Conservation in the Little Ice Age""

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 12pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall (co-sponsored by FES & RITM)
Julie Sze, University of California, Davis

Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 3:30pm - HGS 204
Reinaldo Funes-Monzote, Yale University

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 4:30pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall)
Timothy Snyder, Yale University
"Black Earth: The Holocaust as Environmental History"

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Karl Jacoby, Columbia University
"An Empire of Dust: A Life Between the Color Line and the Borderline"

Friday, March 3, 2017 - 12:00pm-1:30pm - Room 202, Henry R. Luce Hall
Ling Zhang, Boston College

Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 105
Tim Lorek, Yale University

Monday, February 20, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Tiya Miles, University of Michigan
"“Slave man or woman, Negro or Pawnee”: Red and Black Bondage in Early Detroit"

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 12pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall (FES Research Seminar)
Paul Sabin, Yale University