Public Events

Upcoming Lectures & Colloquium

Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 9:30 AM - 9:00 PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208

Past Lectures & Colloquium

2018

Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 4:00PM
Dan Brayton (Middlebury College)
"“The Stews of Southwark: An Environmental History,” (Literature, the Arts, and the Environment Colloquium)"

Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 9:30AM - Kroon Hall

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 4:30 PM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Pratik Chakrabarti (University of Manchester)

Friday, April 6, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Aaron Jakes (Yale University and The New School for Social Research)

Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 6:30pm - Hastings Hall
Caitlin DeSilvey, University of Exeter

Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 12pm - HGS 211
José Augusto Pádua (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)

Friday, March 2, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
William Rankin (Yale University)

Friday, February 23, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Paul Sutter (University of Colorado-Boulder)

Wednesday, February 21, 2018 - 12pm - Burke Auditoriaum, Kroon Hall
Harvey Weiss, Joseph Manning and Robert Mendelsohn, Yale University
"Collapse! What Collapse? Societal Responses to Abrupt Climate Changes before Global Warming" (FES Research Seminar"

Friday, February 16, 2018 - 12:30 PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208
Jason W. Moore (Binghamton University)

Friday, February 16, 2018 - 3:00 PM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Stuart Schwartz, Jose Caraballo-Cueto, William Suarez, Fernando Abruña

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 - 4pm - Luce Hall, Room 202
Kate Brown, University of Maryland-Baltimore County

Friday, February 9, 2018 - 11:00 AM - Luce Hall, Room 203
Gaston Gordillo (University of British Columbia)

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 4:30PM - Henry R. Luce Hall, Room 203
Debjani Bhattacharya (Drexel University),

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 - 12:00 PM - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall
Deborah Coen

Friday, January 26, 2018 - 4:00PM - Henry R. Luce Hall, Room 203
Paul Kreitman (Columbia)

2017

Wednesday, November 15, 2017 - 12:00 - Hall of Graduate Studies, Room 204 (HGS 204)
John Lee, Yale Agrarian Studies

Friday, November 3, 2017 - 3:00pm - Whitney Humanities Center, Room
Prasenjit Duara (Duke), Kathleen Morrison (UPenn), Karen Thornber (Harvard)

Monday, October 30, 2017 - 12:00pm - HGS 204
Emma Shortis, Fox International Fellow, Yale University

Monday, October 23, 2017 - 4:00pm - 28 Hillhouse Ave, Room 106
Paul Erdkamp, Free University, Brussels

Saturday, October 21, 2017 - Whitney Humanities Center

Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 4pm - HGS 105
Nancy Langston, Michigan Technological University

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 204
Paul Berne Burow, Yale Joint FES & Anthropology Program

Monday, September 18, 2017 - 4:00pm - Luce Hall 203 and Common Room
James Scott (Political Science), Jennifer Raab (History of Art), and Paul Sabin (History)

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 204
Daniel Headrick (Roosevelt University)

Thursday, May 4, 2017 - 9:00AM-5:00pm - Whitney Humanities Center
Yale Doctoral Students (multiple departments)
"More than Nature: Environmental Humanities at Yale"

Friday, April 28, 2017 - 12:30-2:00PM - Whitney Humanities Center, Room 208
Meg Jacobs, Princeton University (Hosted by CHESS)

Saturday, April 22, 2017 - 8:30AM-5:00PM - Luce Hall

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
John McNeill, Georgetown University
"Three Approaches to the Anthropocene: The Industrial Revolution, the Cold War, and the Geopolitical History of Fossil Fuels"

Monday, April 10, 2017 - 4:30pm - Fulton Room, SHM, L215, 333 Cedar Street
Harriet Ritvo, MIT
"A Whiff of Danger: Hybridity, Breed, and Wildness"

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Joyce Chaplin, Harvard University
""Poor Richard's Climate: Body, Comfort, and Conservation in the Little Ice Age""

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 - 12pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall (co-sponsored by FES & RITM)
Julie Sze, University of California, Davis

Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 3:30pm - HGS 204
Reinaldo Funes-Monzote, Yale University

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Karl Jacoby, Columbia University
"An Empire of Dust: A Life Between the Color Line and the Borderline"

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 - 4:30pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall)
Timothy Snyder, Yale University
"Black Earth: The Holocaust as Environmental History"

Friday, March 3, 2017 - 12:00pm-1:30pm - Room 202, Henry R. Luce Hall
Ling Zhang, Boston College

Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 105
Tim Lorek, Yale University

Monday, February 20, 2017 - 12pm - HGS 211
Tiya Miles, University of Michigan
"“Slave man or woman, Negro or Pawnee”: Red and Black Bondage in Early Detroit"

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 - 12pm - Burke Auditorium, Kroon Hall (FES Research Seminar)
Paul Sabin, Yale University

2016

Tuesday, December 13, 2016 - 11:30-1:00 (light lunch served) - HGS 204
Keri Lambert, Caroline Lieffers, Ashanti Shih
"Environmental History Prospectus Workshop"

Monday, November 7, 2016 - 4pm - KGL 123
Edward R. Cook, Tree-Ring Laboratory, Columbia-Lamont Earth Observatory

Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 4:00 PM - ISPS, 77 PROSPECT ST, RM A0002
Harriet Ritvo, MIT

Friday, October 14, 2016 - 11am - Luce Hall Room 203 (Agrarian Studies Colloquium)
Fabian Drixler
"Food, Community, and the Geography of Death in Japan’s Volcanic Winters, 1640-1840"

Thursday, October 13, 2016 - 4pm - HGS 105
Mark Carey, Associate Professor of History, University of Oregon

Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 5:30-7:00PM - Luce Hall Common Room (2nd Floor)